Written by Dr Tim Clayton, Consultant Paediatric Dermatologist
Ovée compared with Aveeno, CeraVe, Cetraben, Doublebase, Oilatum, Epaderm, Childs Farm and Nala’s Baby
An honest, sourced comparison of the emollients UK parents and adults actually choose between — including the places where another cream is the better answer than ours.
How Ovée compares, ingredient by ingredient
Sourced from each manufacturer’s own published ingredient list or product information. The babies and children table was verified in August 2026 and the adults table in October 2026, using UK sources only. Scroll the tables sideways on a phone.
For babies and children
| Ovée Baby & Child | Aveeno Baby Dermexa | Childs Farm Baby Moisturiser grapefruit & organic tea tree |
Cetraben Cream | Oilatum Junior Cream | Epaderm Cream | Nala’s Baby Body Lotion general baby moisturiser, not an eczema emollient |
|
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Perfume / parfum | None | None | Contains parfum, limonene, linalool, citronellol and tea tree oil. A separate fragrance-free version is sold. | None | None | None | Contains parfum, which the brand states is free from known allergens |
| Paraffin-based | No | Contains petrolatum | No | Yes — white soft paraffin 13.2%, light liquid paraffin 10.5% | Yes — white soft paraffin 15%, light liquid paraffin 6% | Yes — yellow soft paraffin and liquid paraffin | No |
| Colloidal oat | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | No | Yes — oat kernel flour and oat kernel extract |
| Steroid-free | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Available free on NHS prescription | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
| Developed by a consultant dermatologist | Yes — formulated with Dr Tim Clayton, Consultant Paediatric Dermatologist | Not stated | Described as dermatologist and paediatrician approved | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated as formulated by one; brand describes it as paediatrician and dermatologist approved |
Every cell is taken from the manufacturer's own published ingredient list or product page, last verified August 2026. Formulations change — check the pack before you buy. Percentages are quoted as the manufacturer states them. Nala’s Baby Body Lotion is included because parents often ask about it, but it is sold as a general baby moisturiser rather than as an eczema emollient, so it is not a like-for-like product.
For adults
| Ovée Dermatologist Lipid Cream | Aveeno Dermexa Daily Emollient Cream | CeraVe Moisturising Cream | Doublebase Gel | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Perfume / parfum | None | None | None | None |
| Paraffin-based | No | Contains petrolatum | Contains petrolatum | Yes — liquid paraffin 15% |
| Oat ingredients | Oat kernel flour, oil and extract | Oat kernel flour, extract and oil (sold as a triple oat complex) | None listed | None listed |
| Ceramides | None listed | Ceramide 3 | Ceramide NP, ceramide AP and ceramide EOP | None listed |
| Steroid-free | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Available free on NHS prescription | No | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Developed by a consultant dermatologist | Yes — formulated with Dr Tim Clayton, Consultant Paediatric Dermatologist | Not stated; described as dermatologist tested | Not stated; described as developed with dermatologists | Not stated |
| How the maker describes its use | A moisturiser for adults with dry, sensitive and eczema-prone skin | For very dry, itchy skin; also suitable for people prone to eczema | For dry to very dry skin; the brand states it does not treat underlying skin conditions | A hydrating, protective base for dry or chapped skin; for adults, the elderly, infants and children |
UK sources only, last verified October 2026: Aveeno’s UK ingredient list (April 2023) and aveeno.co.uk, CeraVe’s UK product data on cerave.co.uk, and Doublebase Gel’s UK Summary of Product Characteristics from Dermal Laboratories (revised December 2019). Ingredient lists can differ between countries and change over time, so check the pack. “Not stated” means the manufacturer’s product information we checked does not say; it does not mean no. Doublebase Gel is a licensed medicine sold through pharmacies, so it is not a like-for-like cosmetic product.
When another cream is the better choice
If cost is your main constraint. Cetraben, Oilatum and Epaderm are available free on NHS prescription and are sold in 500g tubs. Per 100ml they cost a fraction of what Ovée does. If you are getting through large quantities — and with eczema you should be — that difference is real and it matters. Ask your GP.
If something you have already works. Emollients are personal. Skin that is settled on a cream is skin you should leave alone. There is no clinical reason to switch a product that is doing its job.
If you need a heavy occlusive layer. For very dry, cracked or fissured skin, a greasy paraffin-based ointment forms a more occlusive barrier than a lighter cream will. That is what those products are designed to do, and they do it well.
If you specifically want ceramides in your moisturiser. Ovée’s Dermatologist Lipid Cream lists none. Aveeno Dermexa Daily Emollient Cream lists ceramide 3 and CeraVe Moisturising Cream lists three ceramides, so if that is what you are looking for, those two match it and ours does not.
Where we think Ovée earns its place is for skin that reacts to perfume, or for families who want an emollient without paraffin that is still substantial enough for daily eczema care — formulated with a Consultant Paediatric Dermatologist rather than approved by one afterwards.